success with greens

Last night’s dinner of colcannon and 40 cloves of garlic chicken involved quite a bit of dicing and chopping.  It was my first foray into cooking with leeks and kale, both of which I am happy to say I enjoyed.  Thanks to Jess for sending this recipe to me.  I subbed kale for the cabbage & omitted the nutmeg.  It was delicious and I am glad to have more ways to work greens into my diet. Also, I cannot wait to enjoy the leftovers. I mean, look at that pool of butter in the middle. So decadent.

colcannon

I’ve also been fairly successful with the plants in the front of the house.  There is a nice fragrant smell when you walk up the sidewalk and lots of the plants are flowering, including the lantanas that I planted barely a month ago and thought had died from neglect during my surgery recovery.  There are at least 3 different colors of lantana bloom and I think they’ll look really nice when they completely fill in the window bed and start intermingling.   And they’ll require much less help from me once they’re larger and established.  The butterflies love them and the cat loves to watch the butterflies out the front window. Most of our lantana are sterile, due to their inclusion on several invasive species lists, but I must have accidentally thrown unsterile pot into the cart at the nursery, because the plant below definitely has the berries necessary for propagation.

lantana01

And in crafting news, sign up for Doll Quilt Swap 9 started this week.  There’s a handy little form this time around, but participants will be chosen by lottery, so even the early birds aren’t guaranteed a spot.  I have to admit, I’ll be super bummed if I don’t get to participate.  Researching your partner is so much fun.  I love pouring over the Flickr favorites and coming up with a color palette and design.  It also doesn’t hurt that I have received two amazing quilts from folks assigned to me.

doll quilt swap 9

Leave a Reply

