the beginnings of something

Our bed is in serious need of a summer-weight quilt and I’ve been wanting to make a quilt for myself for over a year.  I’ll solve both problems by pulling together a coin quilt.

beginnings of a quilt

The quilt is based on the Stacked Coin Quilt from Last Minute Patchwork & Quilted Gifts, but will be constructed differently because some of the scraps I wanted to incorporate weren’t large enough. Here’s to all those little rectangles become awesome like the quilts I’ve collected as inspiration.

coin quilts

There’s also a 2009 Coin Quilt piece-along going on. I sorta missed their starting by a few months, but I’m hoping to catch up and have this baby finished up by the mid-summer.

2 Responses to “the beginnings of something”

  1. ellie Says:

    I can’t wait to see it!

  2. quilted patchwork coasters « bumbles & lu Says:

    […] By bumblesandlu I have a lot of quilt projects in the works right now – a coin quilt that I have yet to begin piecing as well as the sorta-finished quilt top I posted on Tuesday […]

Leave a Reply

