handmade nation

jungle quilt

The boy has baby fever & is concocting plans for us to have one at home of our own. Right now I think we should be content with visiting the little toad & providing awesome handmade gifts, like this quilt I’ve been working on for the past few months. It’s the first actual quilt I’ve ever made and I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out. I was a little worried I’d injected it too much of my taste into it and not taken the nursery theme into account enough, but the parents seem to love it.

the boy & the baby

The DIY ethic has been influencing me more & more lately, to the point that I’m having a hard time buying things I could make myself, even from other crafters, although I have been trying. I bought an awesome bag last month from Jmacc because I fell in love with the fabric print. In an attempt to make our place feel less transitional, I bought some wall pretties last week – a woodblock from Cabin & a print from A Minor Thread. And I just finished knitting a simple ribbed scarf with some glorious handspun yarn from Feral Feminine.

One area where I don’t have any guilt about the extreme DIY is food preparation. A friend introduced me to rice pudding a few weeks ago and I spent all day yesterday thinking about it, so I made a batch when I got home. I’ve yet to perfect the recipe, it needs way less sugar, but I’m already thinking of way it can be incorporated into other dishes. And Monday night I tried out a recipe for pumpkin butter that I’d bookmarked a few weeks ago (del.icio.us is my friend). It made the house smell wonderful and it tastes delicious on everything.

pumpkin butter

One Response to “handmade nation”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    I have a picture of the boy when he was, I think, 17 or 18. In it, he’s standing with others from the Meeting’s high school group, and he’s holding a baby. I knew then he’d have the fever. I should scan it and send it to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

